Armchair BEA 2014 – Day 1 – Introduction

Design by Amber of Shelf Notes

So it’s time once again for Armchair BEA. I have a feeling my participation this year is going to be a bit spotty, because I’ll be out of town and likely without much Internet connection in the beginning of the week (read: today), and I’ve been really busy lately.  But, whatever! I’ve had a blast participating in this book blogging extravaganza the last two years, and I’m determined to participate as far as I’m able. Anyway, it begins with an introductory survey, which I answered while in a supremely neurotic mood. Enjoy!

1. Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging? Where in the world are you blogging from? 

Hi, my name is Kelly, and I read way too much. I’ve been blogging here about books and neuroses for about two years. You know how sometimes people fall into blogging, like they just meant to go out for a cup of coffee but then they ended up starting a blog? That’s sort of what happened to me. One day I was intensely aware of my age, intensely aware that creativity and brilliance used to be so easy for me, so commonplace that I thought I could count on them forever, but I realized that it had been a long time since I had intentionally created anything (much less something good). And I’m the type of person who can’t have those revelations without trying to do something about it (because the alternative is just too depressing, as though to be dying and self-aware of the dying is just too much and also too normal, if you know what I mean), so I kind of started a blog. But I was weeks and weeks into it before I realized why I’d done it. Maybe I’m still working on that realizing thing.

Oh, and I’m in California.

2. Describe your blog in just one sentence. Then, list your social details — Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, etc. — so we can connect more online. 

Neurotic woman who thinks too much reads romance novels and erotica and then has thoughts, occasionally writes about them. @darjeeling44

I think that sentence is going to become my new Twitter tag line.

3. What genre do you read the most? I love to read because ___________________ . 

See #2. I also very occasionally read nonfiction and even less often a bit of classical literature. I’m keen on ancient literature and epic poetry, but it’s been a few years since my last glut of epics.

I identify as a reader. I can’t go anywhere without a book, and I have a hard time not talking about what I’m reading. (This is problematic at work, where I have to put in extra effort.) When I got married and then had kids, I added two huge roles to my identity… now, in addition to being Kelly, that weird tall lady who reads things, I’m “wife” and “mom,” and those roles can tend to swell and overtake the landscape that was there before, like they’re some kind of strange nonnative species that just has to obliterate whatever it finds. When I read, I’m taking a stand against that obliteration; I’m standing up for me. At least, that’s how I see it. (Seriously, don’t tell my husband that I worded it this way… I don’t think he’d understand.)

4. What was your favorite book read last year? What’s your favorite book so far this year? 

I wrote a post summing up my favorite reads of 2013. So far this year… I have loved Deeper by Robin York, Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare, Neanderthal Seeks Human by Penny Reid, all the Chocolate books by Laura Florand, Control by Charlotte Stein (and, actually, all the books by Charlotte Stein), and Laugh by Mary Ann Rivers.

5. Spread the love by naming your favorite blogs/bloggers (doesn’t necessarily have to be book blogs/bloggers). 

I love a whole pile of book blogs, but I’ll confess that I spend most of my blog-reading time at Reflections of a Book Addict, Truth, Freedom, Beauty and Books, Miss Bates Reads Romance, and Badass Romance. I’m also very keen on my friend’s makeup reviews at Beauty in Budget Blog and Via Lucis, this fantastic blog about photographing Romanesque architecture.

So, there you have it. **waves**

15 thoughts on “Armchair BEA 2014 – Day 1 – Introduction

  1. Hello! I’m a neurotic book reader! But don’t plan to go into recovery. So glad to meet you through BEA!

  2. I love what you said about identifying as a reader, because you described me exactly. I am also “wife” and “mom” and my husband doesn’t get it either. I am a hopeless and obsessive book addict, and I devour the written word like some women eat bonbons. I just cannot imagine life without books, and I don’t want to.
    Lisa @Just Another Rabid Reader

    • Maybe it’s because “husband” and “father” haven’t historically obliterated a man’s identity the way they have a woman’s… my case is a double whammy, because my husband thinks reading is torture, so he REALLY doesn’t get why I’d want to do it so often. Poor man… Thanks for stopping by!

      • I hear you. While my husband does not view reading as torture, I think in our nearly 5 years of marriage, I have seen him read perhaps a total of 4 books. He will read articles online about agriculture all day, but books? Doesn’t really happen.

      • LOL, online articles are such a rabbit hole. I’ll spend hours learning about random stuff without even realizing what I’m doing. My hubs does it too, and I don’t think he realizes that it counts as reading.

      • I agree. Mine realizes it is reading. He will just say “I am just not a book person. I like reading to learn something.” I guess he doesn’t view fiction as educational like I do.

  3. Hiya Kelly! Your husband may not understand your description but as a reader and a mom I certainly do! And we’ve never met before 😉 when I discovered I could read books on my cell phone all my problems were solved about having a book on me at all times – makes for fabulous passing of the time while standing in line at the Walmart!
    Hope you have a great Armchair BEA week & enjoy Memorial Day!

  4. Hi, Kelly! Your introduction is fascinating, but there’s no such thing as reading way too much! 😉 I went to graduate school in Southern California, and I miss it so much! It was just too expensive to stay there, though, and I couldn’t find a decent job… so I relocated to Illinois. We don’t really read any of the same kinda stuff, you and I, but your journey sounds very cool. I hope you continue to find something worthwhile in blogging!

  5. Miss Bates sends greetings and gratitude to you!

    I was fascinated by your description of your reading self as a means of asserting a sense of self that isn’t mom and wife. I think I identify/identified so MUCH as a reader that I resisted all efforts for my own “HEA” … and here I am reading and reviewing romance!

Leave a Reply

