Seriously? You read romance? Why?!?

To be fair, I guess I have all the incredulous feelings whenever someone I know admits to reading James Patterson.  I guess the difference is that I don’t carry my Patterson disdain across his entire genre to make the assumption that anyone reading any suspense novel is obviously reading crap and also delusional.

So, it’s been August for a while (20 days, in fact), but I’m finally getting around to mentioning that August is national Read-a-Romance month (who knew?).  To celebrate, 93 romance authors are writing posts about why romance matters over at readaromancemonth.com.  Some of my favorite posts are by Ruthie Knox (surprise, surprise…), Elizabeth Hoyt, Christina Dodd, Julie James, and Maya Rodale.  After reading those last two posts, I went on a little bit of a book buying spree (oops), but it was worth it.

I love this video, courtesy of Maya Rodale:

As a romance reader, I find these posts incredibly empowering.  If you’ve ever wondered why so many women (and men!) read so many romance novels or if you enjoy romance novels and you’ve despaired at so many people feeling the need not only to look down on your choice of reading material but also to tell you about it, you should check out some of these posts.

It’s national Read-a-Romance month, so go out and read a sex novel!  It’s good for you.

12 thoughts on “Seriously? You read romance? Why?!?

    • Oh, my goodness… it would be a tragedy if that Downton Abbey fanfic is the only quasi romance you read all month… That thing was terrible.

      Have you read any Laura Florand novels yet? The Chocolate Thief wasn’t perfect, but I loved it. I also recommend Juliana Gray’s A Lady Never Lies, set in Tuscany during the 1890s. 🙂

  1. I used to be one of those readers who were snobby about people reading romances; luckily I got myself in check and realised they can be good too even if they aren’t to my tastes. Enjoy your month of romance reading!

    • Thanks! I used to be rather snobby about it, too, which is ridiculous considering that I’ve always enjoyed reading romances… I exploded out of the romance closet when I started this blog, and it’s been very good for me, intellectually and emotionally. Do I still get the side eye and dripping scorn from some IRL friends who’ve never read a romance (or my blog, come to think of it) yet still insist that I’m wasting my mental resources? Yeah… but for every one of those, I’ve met 10 whose circumstances are like mine or whose minds are more open. Thanks for dropping by with a comment!

  2. It also makes me really sad when people judge romance novels and call them trashy. Don’t get me wrong, there certainly are some trashy ones ::cough fiftyshades cough:: but by and far the ones I read, with you Kel, are amazing.

    Tessa Dare’s Spindle Cove series – HELLO AMAZING WOMEN. (Also Tessa’s Stud Club trilogy – most especially the third book – Deaf culture discussions in a romance novel? Yes!!)

    Mary Ann Rivers – The Story Guy – No words necessary.

    Ruthie Knox – Making it Last – Marriage shouldn’t be the death of romance and she proves it doesn’t have to be.

    I could keep going, but you’re pretty familiar with the route I’m taking here. I’m really happy that Read-A-Romance month exists. Hopefully more people will come out as romance readers and help erase the stigma that all romances are trashy.

    • Thank you again – I really love this comment. That’s part of the reason I created the event. To give women who may not be open about their love of the genre the understanding that the women who write romances CHOOSE to, and do so for a reason, and that they love what the genre stands for – hope, optimism, and, often, women solving their own problems and becoming their best possible selves in order to fight for their Happy-Ever-After.

      Based on your comments, I’d also highly recommend Sarah MacLean and Anne Gracie, if you haven’t discovered them yet.

      Thank you again. I’ll be posting this on my facebook page, in case you want to comment in any way. Facebook.com/readaromancemonth

      All the very best,
      Bobbi

      • Sarah MacLean writes fantastic books. I’ve not read any Anne Gracie, but I’ll look her up now. I’m always on the hunt for new authors. 🙂 Thank you so much for putting together Read a Romance Month. It was a blast to read all those posts.

    • Yes, yes, yes, and yes! Also, I don’t get what’s so awful about trashy romances… Not everything in life can or should be artistic, epic, momentous, etc. It’s when we tell ourselves that the things we actually like and enjoy are “trashy” or “guilty pleasures” that we sell ourselves short. If it’s OK to watch The Bachelor or Dancing with the Stars or reruns of Three’s Company, I posit that it’s OK to read romances, even if they’re terrible, and especially if they’re good. The only measure of whether or not a book is “worthwhile” should be whether or not it is enjoyable to the person who is reading it. Amiright?

  3. I read romance because I just love to enter this fantasy universe. And especially when you read that wonderful book, which you do not want it to have order, because it is too perfect. Already unforgettable book Sarah maclean, Linda Howard, Julia Quiin, Sherry Teresa Thomas…

Leave a Reply

