Introduction – Armchair BEA Day 1


May has been an uncommonly busy month for me, but it’s finally starting to calm down.  Good timing, too, because it’s time for Armchair BEA!  What’s that, you say?  It’s a way of participating virtually in the Book Expo America currently occurring in somewheresville, USA (I pay a lot of attention, you’ll note).  I had a blast participating in Armchair BEA in 2012, and I’m looking forward to having even more fun with it this year.  It all starts with an introduction:

1.  Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging? 

Hello_my_name_is_sticker copy

So, this type of question provides an obvious beginning to an introduction — after all, who does an introduction without first providing a reference point? — but reference points tend to stress me out.  How much context is appropriate to provide?  I suspect the average person doesn’t spend any time analyzing such a silly, everyday question as ‘who are you, and why do you blog?’  Then again, there’s a reason this blog is called Reading with Analysis…

Anyway, I’ve been blogging here for a little over a year.  I started the blog because I needed something for my brain to do, an outlet for my creativity, and because I know very few people IRL who read romance novels, and I wanted to find some way of talking about books without enduring my friends’ well-meaning side eyes and eye rolls.  In the past year, I have made a few book friends and have greatly increased my general happiness quotient by talking about books to people who aren’t all judgy.  It’s fantastic.

2.  What are you currently reading, or what is your favorite book you have read so far in 2013? 

I’m having a difficult time determining my favorite book so far in 2013, so I’ll just highlight the book I’m reading now.  Also, I’m loving it, and you should all read it when it comes out.

Cover image, A Woman Entangled by Cecilia Grant

Don’t let that cover fool you into thinking this is just another silly boy meets girl, they instalust, they boink, and something happens, so they angst about it a bit, but it turns out to be nothing, so it’s happily ever after type of story.  It isn’t.  The writing in this book is incredible; I feel less like I’m reading a story and more like I’m making a friend.  Seriously, you need to read it.  (A Woman Entangled will be available on June 25.)

3.  Tell us one non-book-related thing that everyone reading your blog may not know about you. 

I’m wary of opening up a, “hey, let’s talk about religion” thing here — that never goes well — but this tidbit is really the only surprising thing about me, other than what I shared last year: I’m very involved in my church.  I sing in the choir, chair the board (though we Episcopalians call that position Senior Warden, and we call the board a Vestry, but when I first joined my church, I thought the term ‘warden’ was restricted to penitentiaries or insane asylums, so….), and serve on the social committee.  That last is actually the secret thing most folk wouldn’t know about me.  I’m so painfully awkward in person, it’s difficult to imagine that I might have an interest in anything social.  Surprise!

4.  Name your favorite blog(s) and explain why they are your favorite(s). 

In no particular order, my favorites are:

Beauty in Budget Blog – My friend runs this blog, and I love reading her reviews of drugstore and higher end makeup items.  Every day that I don’t look like a transient, it’s because of something I read about on this blog.  (When I do look like a transient, it’s because I’m lazy.)

Via Lucis – I’ve got a thing for architectural photography, and Via Lucis provides a dose of beauty with every post.

Truth, Beauty, Freedom, and Books – I get excited every time I get an email that a new post is up at this blog, which contains a fairly eclectic mix of posts on books, art, life, movies, television shows, pop culture, cocktails, etc.

and Reflections of a Book Addict – Kim, the founding reviewer at Reflections of a Book Addict, and I are reading besties.  We have remarkably similar taste in romance novels and often read books together.  My favorite thing about her blog, however, is that she and her fellow staff on the blog read books from a diverse mix of genres and styles, and there’s always something interesting appearing on the blog.

5.  Which is your favorite post that you have written that you want everyone to read? 

My favorite post is Women and silence…and romance novels.  I’m quite proud of a few others, but that one really stands out to me.

Stay tuned for more Armchair BEA posts this week (and an overdue review post, hopefully later today)!

10 thoughts on “Introduction – Armchair BEA Day 1

    • Romance novel covers are the reason I use an e-reader… That said, the dude on that cover is quite handsome. It’s a very good book, but it’s definitely a romance. Thanks for stopping by!

  1. I have similar reasons why I started book blogging. For me it seems nobody “gets it” I love books, and my friends would be looking at me like I had two heads, or would comment about the books I read. Hope You have a great #ArmChairBEA and meet some great bloggers.

  2. Aw, thank you for the shout-out and kind words! I also love that post you did on Women and Silence, I thought it was very insightful. Glad you’re participating in Armchair BEA this year!

  3. This is a lovely post, and I’m excited about the new Cecilia Grant book, too! I’m having a crazy week and I haven’t got an intro post ready, but am sort of lurking and looking around at Armchair BEA. Happy to see reading with analysis on the list today. This does look like fun…
    Also, I grew up with Senior — and Junior — Wardens for parents… we practically lived at the church some years, and one of them was always on the vestry. Episcopalians do like to look at every angle of a thing, especially literary interpretation. So that is a very interesting detail! 🙂

    • Thanks! I was in my early twenties when I stumbled upon the Episcopal Church, and it restored my faith in God and humanity. One of my priest’s favorite sayings was, “Jesus came to save your souls, not to subjugate your brains!” I knew I was home when I heard those words…

      Armchair BEA is a blast! 🙂

  4. I don’t read many romances anymore but the cover is pretty. I started my book blog for the reasons you listed too. Hope you enjoy Armchair BEA!

    • I’m loving it so far. It’s nice to take a week to reflect back on the past year and take stock of what I’ve learned and how I’ve grown. It’s even better to branch out a little and make some new blogging friends. Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

