Feature and Follow Friday (3)

Feature and Follow Friday is a meme hosted by Alison Can Read and Parajunkee.  It’s a blog hop–a way to connect with other bloggers and make new friends.  This week’s featured blogs are Book Liaison and Angela’s Anxious Life.  So far, all four blogs seem pretty nifty, so if you haven’t checked them out, you should (assuming you have time to putz around on the Internet, that is…)

In addition to featuring a blog, the meme also asks participants to answer a question, and this week the question is: “What do you hope to accomplish with your blog? Is it to one day become an author yourself, just for fun, maybe get some online attention, or maybe something very different?”

Why in the world do I take time every week to tell the Internet what I think about life and romance novels?  Put like that, it seems very silly.  The thing is, I love to read.  I love it so much that I rarely allow myself the time to reflect on what I’ve read, what I thought about it, what new ideas it sparked, what new fragments of self it brought into existence.  Instead, my habit is to start a new book seconds after finishing the last, and that’s not best.  If one chooses, one can experience a book, taste and savor it rather than devouring it.  The purpose of this blog is to provide a space wherein I can discuss the books I read and, perhaps, learn a little something from the experience.  All that is my primary focus, but I also get a kick out of recommending books that I love (because books are meant to be read) and talking about these books with other people.

The fact is, I don’t have any close friends who like to read romance novels.  One of my friends actually gets kind of angry that I’m squandering my mental powers on such smutty reading material (or something like that), so I can’t talk about this part of my life with her.  It sucks.  I’m sure a lot of us have discovered that the Internet provides a glorious opportunity to meet people who share similar tastes (without a lot of the awkwardness attendant on face-to-face contact), and it’s been one of the great by-products of this blog.  Through my conversations with the folks I’ve met, I’ve been able to find quite a few new-to-me authors whose works I love, and I’ve had a heck of a lot of fun talking about these books in comments and emails and on Twitter.  It turns out I can make new friends (who knew?!).

So if the first paragraph describes why I started Reading with Analysis, the second paragraph describes why I continue.

I’m on WordPress, so the following options, should you choose to follow me, are somewhat limited.  I am no closer to discovering the mysteries of the RSS feed than I was the last time I participated in this meme, mostly because I have put zero effort into that endeavor……  In the meantime, if you’d like to follow me and are not also on WordPress, please do so by email, or you can follow me on Twitter.  Happy Friday!

8 thoughts on “Feature and Follow Friday (3)

    • I suspect all the readers in the world have a lot in common, and if we could all, for a moment, forget about just how awesome our genre of choice is compared to anyone else’s, maybe we’d all have more fun coexisting (and maybe the New York Times Book Review would have nothing to say)… But that’s hard to do. I know I’ve expressed disdain for sci-fi on more than twelve occasions….. 🙂

      Thanks for the Twitter follow!

      Cheers–

    • Oh, I know. I get a lot of eye rolls… It’s hard not to talk about it though, right? I’m always so excited about what’s going on with the blog that I kind of forget that most of my long-time friends don’t really give two hoots or a holler about my random Internet life. Sometimes I wonder what in the world I talked about before I started this thing… ? Anyway, thanks for stopping by!

  1. Definitely don’t have friends who read romance either; thank goodness for the online community. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, and happy Friday!

    P.S. Write that book about pregnancy! lol. I bet you’d make a killing in profits.

  2. The reason why you continue blogging is the same reason I do it too. I have almost NO friends that read. Everyone is “too busy” which I like to call BS on. That’s where the start of my blog came from, no matter how busy you are, there is ALWAYS time for what you make.

    I digress though. Being able to blog and meet other people who ::shock:: like and read the same kinds of books you do? Priceless. I treasure my friendship with YOU so much because of that. I’m able to discuss ANY book with you, share ANY bok with you, and you’re always there to listen to me rave or rant and then give that book a try too.

    God I wish we lived closer together. We’d rule all the bookstores. HA!

    • No kidding!! There does seem to be a real sense of openness in the book blogging community, not so much of the “ew, you’re reading THAT?!” judgment that we might encounter in our offline lives. I wonder if that’s because we all know and encounter each other as readers when we meet online whereas in our personal lives we are known by a variety of different identities? Who knows–all I can say is that I love interacting with the community, and I LOVE LOVE LOVE reading books with you, discussing them, and coming to a more full understanding of them by engaging with your sometimes different (sometimes similar) perspective. It’s a heck of a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

