Review – A Season for Sin by Vicky Dreiling

It’s the end of August.  When in the world did that happen (obviously during the rest of August…)?  Anyway, I have found myself a wee bit behind in posting reviews for books that will be released in September, so you’ll probably notice more straight-up review posts appearing than my normal quaintly meandering posts about books I bought with my own money.  Once I catch up, I’ll be back to being tangential me.

Cover image, A Season for Sin by Vicky Dreiling

I’ll start with the publisher’s blurb:

Introducing the Sinful Scoundrels…

The Earl of Bellingham is nothing is not a creature of habit:  money, meals, and mistresses must be strictly managed if a man is to have a moment’s peace.  It’s a system that works splendidly for him–until now.  With his oldest and dearest friends succumbing, one by one, to wedded bliss, Bell is now restless and a trifle lonely.  Enter the Sinful Scoundrels–Colin Brockhurst, Earl of Ravenshire, and Harry Norcliffe, Viscount Evermore–who drag him back into society and draw his rakish eye to the ton‘s new beautiful young widow.  Bell isn’t after a wife, but a challenge.  And Laura Davenport should fit the bill quite nicely…

A Season for Sin is an introductory novella for a new series coming out in spring 2013.  As a marketing tool, the introductory novella concept seems a fantastic idea.  What better way to get people invested in the stories of a new set of characters than to serve up an appetizer of sorts?  That’s what you get in A Season for Sin.  It is not a complete story; it’s more like the first four chapters of What a Wicked Earl Wants randomly snipped from the beginning of that story and sold separately.  I have seen an example of a novella introducing a new series that managed to tell an independent story while piquing the reader’s interest in a new set of characters/new setting.  In that instance, I did not mind spending $.99 for a marketing tool.  I might have been annoyed if I had paid $.99 for this novella/65 pages of backstory that could (and perhaps should) easily have been incorporated into the novel.

That said, I knew what I was getting myself into when I requested the e-ARC of this novella, so I wasn’t terribly disappointed when I read the story.  I assume that other readers why buy this story expecting it to actually go somewhere will be a trifle disappointed to discover that it’s a clever (and lovely) marketing tool enticing them to spend more money on the full-length novel.  I wonder if the novel will reference any of this material, or if it will begin abruptly where the novella ends. I suppose I will have to wait until spring 2013 to find out.

Now, despite my cynicism, this novella/chunk of disembodied story did its job.  I am curious.  I want to know what happens to Bellingham and Laura.  I want to know if Lord Chesfield, the schmucky teenager, grows up and becomes a worthwhile human being.  I’m intrigued by the other two sinful scoundrels (do we really have to call them that?) and look forward to reading more about their antics.  I’ll probably pre-order a copy of What a Wicked Earl Wants.  Is it ridiculous that I resent being manipulated by clever marketing even while I follow along like the consumerist sheep that I am?  Yeah, probably.  But I can’t help it… there’s a pretty good chance that I’ll find an interesting story in What a Wicked Earl Wants, and I’m a sucker (in general and for interesting stories).

If you’re interested in learning more about this novella, please click on the cover shown above, or avoid scrolling and click here.  You can also visit Vicky Dreiling’s website directly to find out about this and previous works.

*FTC Disclosure – I received a free e-copy of this story from Grand Central Publishing (Forever Yours imprint) via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.*

9 thoughts on “Review – A Season for Sin by Vicky Dreiling

    • Yes! Well written, great characters (as far as one can tell that sort of thing in a story that isn’t really a story), great premise. I love it when authors accurately catch the attitude of teenagers or children, and Dreiling NAILED it. My only real problem with it was the lack of independent story, but that’s a huge problem for a book, even a promotional book, that isn’t free. Despite that (especially because it isn’t really the author’s fault), I will be reading this series with bells on. 🙂

  1. Usually with these sorts of novellas I only ever read the novella. One exception was Anne Stuart (whom I’m a huge fan of to begin with) and her Rohan series. Unfortunately, I didn’t like the full-length novel very much, but the novella was great.

    • I read the Anne Stuart novella (offered free for a time) and thought it was a great intro to the series. Tessa Dare also had a great novella start off the Spindle Cove series (not free, but a hefty novella for $.99). Maybe I’m just a cheapskate… it’s kind of stupid, right, to quibble about a dollar? *sigh*

  2. Hi there. I got a Google Alert & wanted to say thanks for reviewing A SEASON FOR SIN. I’m glad you thought I nailed the teenage boy, Justin. Yes, I know all about that from experience. 🙂 One thing I wanted to ensure you understand is that the chapters in A SEASON FOR SIN will not be in the first single title book of THE SINFUL SCOUNDRELS. I clipped portions of two scenes in the latter part of the e-novella to include in the full book to ensure readers who haven’t read the e-novella understand what’s happening. Very little of the e-novella actually appears in the first book.

    Just an FYI: I wrote the e-novella to give readers a little taste of the upcoming series. It takes several months for the entire production of a single title novel in multiple formats. My intention was to write a short story in e-format that could be published fairly quickly and be available to readers until the longer books in the 3-book series become available (next spring). I hope that helps. If there are other questions, please feel free to email me. Thanks again for the review. Cheers!

    • Thank you for stopping by! I’m really looking forward to picking up Bell and Laura’s story. As characters, they each managed to appeal to me. (I have this strange ‘would I want to talk to this person at a cocktail party?’ test that I use to determine character appeal, and buth passed.) In this instance, I was just quite bummed that the novella did not have an independent story arc. That qualification aside, though, I thought it was a good introduction to a new series and, for many readers, including me, to you as a new (to us) writer. Thank you for answering my questions, and thank you again for visiting the blog! Cheers–

  3. I completely understand. This short story defies typical expectations. I couldn’t end with the usual HEA, because the arc continues in the single title book.

    By the way, my publisher usually does a blog tour for my full length books that include book giveaways. If you would like to be included in the notification list I put together for my favorite bloggers to sign up, email me: vicky@vickydreiling.com

    It was great chatting with you. Cheers!

  4. Pingback: Review – What a Wicked Earl Wants by Vicky Dreiling | readingwithanalysis

Leave a Reply

