Feature and Follow Friday

Feature and Follow Friday is a meme hosted by Alison Can Read and Parajunkee.  It’s a blog hop–a way to connect with other bloggers and make new friends.  This week’s featured blogs are Head Stuck In A Book and Books and Blossoms.  So far, all four blogs seem pretty nifty, so if you haven’t checked them out, you should (assuming you have time to putz around on the Internet, that is…)

In addition to featuring a blog, the meme also asks participants to answer a question, and this week the question is: “If you could “unread” a book, which one would it be? Is it because you want to start over and experience it again for the first time? Or because it was THAT bad?”  

I’ve already posted this week about how much I would like to un-read Tess of the d’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy, but it seems lame to me to answer the meme question with a post I wrote a few days ago…  So, if I could un-read a book, I would choose The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami.  It’s an amazing book–mysterious and creepy–and if not for one particular scene, I’d be happy to read it again and again (rather than deleting it from my mind).  But I’m a total pansy, and ten years after I read the book, I still occasionally have nightmares about this one scene.  If you’ve read the book, I’m pretty sure you know what I’m talking about.  I really wish that scene could be removed from my head.  I’m sick of reliving it.

I’m on WordPress, so the following options, should you choose to follow me, are somewhat limited.  I’ve been trying to figure out the mysteries of the RSS feed but no cigar just yet.  In the meantime, if you’d like to follow me, please do so by email, or you can follow me on Twitter.  Happy Friday!

11 thoughts on “Feature and Follow Friday

    • It’s a really good book, but I should have listened when a friend told me it wasn’t really a book for me. You know how sometimes when people warn you away from something it just makes you want to read it that much more? Well… sometimes people really are right. 🙂

  1. Ordinarily, I’d tell you I’d add the book to my TBR list… but I may not want a scene replaying in my head. haha. I’ve never even heard of this book, so I’m kind of curious. Following you via email. Happy Friday!

    • It’s an amazing book, but there’s this dude-gets-skinned-alive bit… Murakami is a wonderfully vivid writer, but that means that I can actually picture that scene in my head, and I really wish I couldn’t. But I’m a total pansy, and nearly everything gives me nightmares. Folks who regularly read horror and don’t mind a book that’s otherworldly, strange, and set in Japan would probably LOVE A Wind-Up Bird Chronicle. 🙂

  2. Hmmm, I don’t want to have nightmares. lol. (The RSS thing is confusing cause how do you track your followers? I have wordpress too. 🙂 I’m thinking about tracking them through feedburner. Also, have you considered Linky?)

Leave a Reply

