Armchair BEA 2012: Wrap Up

What I learned this week:
1.  Posting everyday is exhausting, but it’s a nice challenge.  I might try to up my average from 2 to 3 posts per week.
2.  The book blogging community is huge, and its members are welcoming, kind, and hospitable, in all the good ways.
3.  There are a bajillion YA books out there and many more on the way.  Makes me really wish there had been more age-appropriate books available when I was younger (so that I wouldn’t have read so much inappropriate stuff…).
4.  It’s OK that I love romance novels, even the terrible ones.  I’m certainly not the only one.
5.  It’s OK that I’m totally neurotic… other people interpret it as charming quirkiness.  🙂

4 thoughts on “Armchair BEA 2012: Wrap Up

  1. Quirky is good. Neurotic is cool. Especially in the book world. I’m glad I’ve made it to your blog to meet you. It’s going to take a while to get to know everyone and read a few posts. I’m really glad I learned about this event even if it was the last minute. Great week.

    • There does seem to be a disproportionately high instance of neurosis among writers… Perhaps it is that very neurosis that prompts an individual not only to define and articulate her thoughts and experiences but also to share them with others in the hope (perhaps vain?) of being understood. At any rate, if there were a continuum of neurotic authors–and there probably is–I suspect I would fall somewhere between Anne Lamott and Joan Didion, leaning much more towards the former than the latter. 🙂 Thanks for the visit and comment! Cheers–

Leave a Reply

